Movies I’ve seen lately

 

Like many people out there, I’m a Millennium fan. It all started with the books, then with the Swedish movies/series (I have a huge girl crush on Noomi Rapace) and finally, as soon as the trailer of the american movie was released, I knew I had to see it.

Last week, I finally had the opportunity. Did I like it ? Yes, very much so. Somehow they managed to add some new elements more similar to the book and still recreate the same mysterious and dangerous atmosphere.

Rooney Mara was the star of the movie. Her transformation is breathtaking, but in some scenes I saw her much more like a sensitive teen than the tough as nails Noomi Rapace Lisbeth. What I liked about the character in the Swedish version was her strength, like nothing could break her down, even if deep down we could feel how lonely she felt and how fragile she was. That restrain made her fascinating. In any case, both Lisbeths remain interesting characters and both actresses did a perfect job.

Daniel Craig was a good Mikael Blomkvist, but he was a little too buff to play the middle age journalist. I read somewhere that he gained 10 pounds for the movie. I didn’t really noticed, my eyes were fascinated by his abs…

A little note about the soundtrack, I absolutely loved the new version of a favourite song of mine, The Immigrant Song by Led Zeppelin.

 The Immigrant Song by Trent Reznor and Karen O.

 

My friends absolutely wanted to go see this movie mostly because of Michael Fassbender. His Jane Eyre didn’t convinced them (they remain completely in love by Toby Stephens, just like me !) but the man has some charisma that none of us could resist. The excellent critics also made us curious about this apparently original movie.

I left the theater completely bored after watching endless sex scenes. The first ones were surprising, it’s not everyday you see an actor doing a full frontal. Sex was in almost every corner, and that killed the movie for me. I was expecting more about Brandon, his past, his sister… We can read between the lines what happened, but it wasn’t enough for me.

 

Leave a Reply

